GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 13 February 2009.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Ms S J Carey, Mr W V Newman, DL, Mr R Tolputt and Mr M J Vye

OFFICERS: Mr R Dale (School Governance Officer), Ms T Gimber (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

1. Minutes

(Item A3)

(1) The Head of Democratic Services and Local Leadership informed the Panel that the proposed guideline set out in Minute 12 had been agreed in slightly amended form by Selection and Member Services Committee. Accordingly, the new guideline (h) now read:-

"A parent eligible for election as a parent governor should not normally be considered for appointment to the governing body of any school attended by one of their own children."

(2) RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 5 December 2008 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

2. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (*Item B1*)

(1) The Panel agreed to appoint Mrs R Rogers to St Joseph's Catholic Primary School, Northfleet subject to no other forms of Governorship being available at that School.

(2) The Panel endorsed the decision taken by the Head of School Governance in consultation with the Chairman to appoint Mr P Hare to the Governing Body of Nonnington CE Primary School.

(3) The Panel agreed the reappointments of Mr A Hollands (Wincheap Foundation Primary School), Mrs W Hinder (St John's CEP School) and Mr N Bensted-Smith (St Matthew's High Brooms CEP School) subject to confirmation of two-thirds attendance being received.

(4) RESOLVED that the appointments of Local Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary and Special Schools be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.